The term of the current Editors-in-Chief (EiC) of the ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing (TACCESS) is coming to an end, and the ACM Publications Board has set up a nominating committee to assist the Board in selecting the next EiC. TACCESS was established in 2008 and has been experiencing steady growth, with 43 original submissions and 82 total submissions received in 2018.

Nominations, including self-nominations, are invited for a three-year term as TACCESS EiC, beginning on July 1, 2019. The EiC appointment may be renewed at most one time. This is an entirely voluntary position, but ACM will provide appropriate administrative support.

TACCESS has traditionally had co-EiCs: Vicki Hanson and Andrew Sears; and Kathleen McCoy and Matt Huenerfauth. We encourage nominations from pairs of people wishing to serve as co-EiCs, as well as individuals interested in serving independently or co-serving.

Appointed by the ACM Publications Board, Editors-in-Chief (EiCs) of ACM journals are delegated full responsibility for the editorial management of the journal consistent with the journal’s charter and general ACM policies. The Board relies on EiCs to ensure that the content of the journal is of high quality and that the editorial review process is both timely and fair. They have final say on acceptance of papers, size of the Editorial Board, and appointment of Associate Editors. A complete list of responsibilities is found in the ACM Volunteer Editors Position Descriptions. Additional information can be found in the following documents:

Nominations should include a vita along with a brief statement of why the nominee should be considered. Self-nominations are encouraged, and should include a statement of the candidate’s vision for the future development of TACCESS. The deadline for submitting nominations is April 15, 2019, although nominations will continue to be accepted until the position is filled.

Please send all nominations to the nominating committee chair, Shari Trewin (

The search committee members are:

  • Shari Trewin (IBM), Chair
  • Andrew Sears (Penn State)
  • Gerhard Weber (Technische Universit├Ąt, Dresden)
  • Clayton Lewis (University of Colorado)
  • Holly Rushmeier (liaison to ACM Publications Board)