Now viewing 1 through 6 of 6 Volunteers found.
    Shari Trewin
    IBM Research, USA
    Dr Shari Trewin is a researcher in human-computer interaction (HCI), specializing in accessibility. She has made research contributions to many areas of inclusive information and communication technology, including accessibility tools for developers, tools that enable users to customize the appearance and access mechanisms for Web pages, access to Virtual Worlds, abstract user interface models for accessibility, novel access features for input devices, and self-adaptive input devices. She holds seven patents for accessibility technology. Shari is an ACM Distinguished Scientist, and Associate Editor of the journal ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing. She has previously served as SIGACCESS Secretary/Treasurer, general chair of ASSETS 2009: The 11th International ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility, and program chair of ASSETS 2007. She has a Ph.D. in Artificial Intelligence from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland.
  • Vice Chair
    Vice Chair
    Matt Huenerfauth
    Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
    Matt Huenerfauth is an associate professor at The Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT) in the Golisano College of Computer and Information Sciences. He is a member of the faculty of the Department of Information Sciences and Technologies and the Ph.D. Program in Computing and Information Sciences. His research focuses on the design of computer technology to benefit people who are deaf or have low levels of written-language literacy, and his laboratory investigates the design and experimental evaluation of American Sign Language technologies. Huenerfauth has secured over $2.5 million in external research funding to support his work, including a National Science Foundation CAREER Award in 2008. He has authored 45 peer-reviewed scientific journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers, and he has twice received the Best Paper Award at the ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility (ASSETS). He served as the general chair for ASSETS 2012 and as the program chair for ASSETS 2016. Huenerfauth is an editor-in-chief of the ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing (TACCESS), and in 2014, he became a Senior Member of the ACM.
  • Secretary/Treasurer
    Jinjuan Feng
    Towson University, USA
    Dr. Jinjuan Heidi Feng is an associate professor at the Computer and Information Sciences Department at Towson University. She received a Ph. D. in Information Sciences from UMBC in 2005. She conducts research in the area of universal accessibility, mobile health applications, and accessible security and privacy. She works closely with national and local communities to improve the quality of life for people with disabilities through information technology. Her current research projects focus on assistive technologies for people with cognitive disabilities in educational and professional settings, mobile applications for health related activities, and accessible security techniques for individuals with visual or cognitive disabilities. Her work has been published in various top-notch journals and conferences such as Human-Computer Interaction, ACM Transactions on Computer-Human Interaction, and ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing. She is serving on the editorial board of ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing and has served on numerous conference program committees and review panels.
  • Newsletter Editor
    Newsletter Editor
    Hugo Nicolau
    University of Dundee, UK.
    Hugo Nicolau is a researcher at the School of Computing (University of Dundee) in the Human Centred Computing Group. His research interests include human-computer interaction, accessibility and mobile interfaces, focusing on the design, development, and evaluation of novel mobile interaction techniques for people with disabilities, either induced by context or health factors. He received his PhD in 2013 in Information Systems and Computer Engineering from the University of Lisbon in Portugal.
  • Information Director
    Information Director
    Joshua Hailpern
    HP Labs
    Joshua Hailpern is the Chief Research Scientist at HP ArcSight's Innovation and Advanced Technologies team. Before that, he was a Research Scientist at HP Labs, part of the Social Computing Group. His research interests focus on interaction design, contextual system design, and technology targeting individuals with impairments. For his research on Autism voice visualizations he was the first CS recipient of the Autism Speaks Dennis Weatherstone Fellowship. He received his M.Sc degree in 2008 and his Ph.D. in 2012, both in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
  • Past Chair
    Past Chair
    Andrew Sears
    The Pennsylvania State University, USA
    Andrew Sears a Professor and Dean of the College of Information Sciences and Technology at Penn State. His research has explored issues related to human-centered computing and accessibility with projects addressing various issues including mobile computing, health information technologies, speech recognition, and assessing an individual's cognitive status via normal daily interactions with information technologies. His research has been supported by various companies, government agencies, and foundations including IBM, Intel, Microsoft, Motorola, NSF, NIDRR, NIST, and the Verizon Foundation. He was a founding Editor-in-Chief of the ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing and serves on the editorial boards of the the ACM Transactions on Accessible Computing, The ACM Transactions on Computer Human Interaction, the International Journal of Human-Computer Studies, and Universal Access in the Information Society. He served as Conference and Technical Program Co-Chair of the ACM Conference on Human Factors in Computing Systems (CHI 2001) and both General Chair and Program Chair for the ACM SIGACCESS Conference on Computers and Accessibility (ASSETS 2005 and ASSETS 2004).

Program Director

Irene Frawley
The Association of Computing Machinery


Faustina Hwang
Hesham Kamel
Gerhard Weber