Impact Award

The SIGACCESS ASSETS Paper Impact Award is presented every other year (in odd-numbered years) to the authors of an ASSETS conference paper that has had a significant impact on computing and information technology that addresses the needs of persons with disabilities. The award recognizes work that presents a significant innovation or contribution to knowledge that has proved influential.

The selection committee will focus on a paper’s impact as judged by influence in the research community, a community of practice, industry, and/or social impact resulting from the work. The award includes a $500 prize and a plaque of recognition for the paper’s authors. A public citation for the award will be placed on the SIGACCESS website. The ASSETS registration fee for one author of the selected paper will be waived if the author is able to attend the ASSETS conference to receive the award.

Technical papers presented 10 or more years prior to the award year are eligible. For the 2015 award, papers published at ASSETS 2004 or earlier are eligible (ASSETS was every two years at that time).

Making a Nomination

The deadline for nominations for the 2015 award is July 1, 2015. The award will be presented at ASSETS 2015.

Please send to bruce.walker [at]

Nominations for the award must include:

  1. A statement summarizing the paper’s impact, the significance of the work, and justification of the nomination (two pages maximum);
  2. Three endorsements supporting the nomination, and describing the significant contributions of the paper. Each endorsement should be no more than 300 words.

The nomination rules are:

  • The nominated paper can be any full technical paper appearing in the ASSETS proceedings 10+ years prior to the award year.
  • The nominator must be a SIGACCESS member.
  • The nominator and the endorsers must not be authors of the nominated paper.
  • Nominations that do not result in an award will be reconsidered for one further award cycle, with the option of updating the original nomination to reflect additional impact. Subsequently, a new nomination must be provided.
  • Papers with authors who are current members of the SIGACCESS Executive Committee or members of the Awards Committee are not eligible.

Selection Committee

The 2015 Awards Selection committee is chaired by Professor Bruce Walker of Georgia Tech, USA. Please direct queries to Bruce by email at bruce [dot] walker [at]

Prof. Walker is joined by Professor Joanna McGrenere of McGill University, Canada, and Professor Clayton Lewis of the University of Colorado, USA.

The SIGACCESS Awards Selection Committee members are appointed by the current SIGACCESS officers and serve staggered three year terms. The committee chair adjudicates conflicts of interest, appointing substitutes to the committee as necessary.

2015 SIGACCESS ASSETS Paper Impact Award Winners Announced

Designing for Dynamic Diversity: Interfaces for Older People

Continue reading →

Chieko Asakawa and Takashi Itoh: 2013 Impact Award

User Interface of a Home Page Reader

Continue reading →